Desktop CNC routers · prices checked 1 November 2026
Find your desktop CNC router.
Makers' own specs, side by side.
Work area, price, drive and spindle for 14 hobby CNC routers from 5 makers. Every figure links to the maker's page with the date it was read, and gaps say Not published instead of a guess.
14 machines shown
-
Spindle included
Photo: SainSmartSainSmart 3018-PROVer V2
290 × 180 mm work area · leadscrew
40 mm Z $390 per sq ft
From $219.00
$269.00Sale price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×3.
-
Spindle not stated
Photo: SainSmartSainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2
300 × 205 mm work area
78 mm Z $603 per sq ft
From $399.00
$499.00Sale price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×2.
-
Spindle included
Photo: SainSmartSainSmart 4040-PRO
400 × 400 mm work area · leadscrew
78 mm Z $348 per sq ft
From $599.00
Maker's price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×2.
-
Spindle included
Photo: FoxAlienFoxAlien Masuter Pro
400 × 400 mm work area
60 mm Z $348 per sq ft
From $599.99
$699.99Sale price, read 1 November 2026.
-
Spindle included
Photo: FoxAlienFoxAlien Masuter Pro Max 2x2
600 × 600 mm work area
— Z $232 per sq ft
From $899.99
$999.99Sale price, read 1 November 2026.
-
Spindle included
Photo: SainSmartSainSmart 4040-PRO MAX
400 × 400 mm work area
78 mm Z $551 per sq ft
From $949.00
$969.00Sale price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×1.
-
Router not included
Onefinity Apprentice
419 × 419 mm work area · ballscrew
133 mm Z $527 per sq ft
From $995.00
Starting price, read 1 November 2026.
-
Spindle included
Photo: FoxAlienFoxAlien Masuter 3S
400 × 400 mm work area
95 mm Z $581 per sq ft
From $999.99
$1,099.99Sale price, read 1 November 2026.
-
Router not included
Sienci Labs LongMill MK3 30x30
813 × 813 mm work area · leadscrew
117 mm Z $197 per sq ft
From $1,400.00*
*Currency not stated, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×1.
-
Router not included
Onefinity Gen 2 Elite Woodworker
838 × 838 mm work area · ballscrew
178 mm Z $290 per sq ft
From $2,195.00
$2,437.00Sale price, read 1 November 2026.
-
Spindle included
Photo: Carbide 3DCarbide 3D Nomad 3
203 × 203 mm work area
76 mm Z $6,312 per sq ft
From $2,800.00
Maker's price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×1.
-
Router not included
Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 4x4
1245 × 1245 mm work area · ballscrew
140 mm Z $189 per sq ft
From $3,160.00*
*Currency not stated, read 1 November 2026.
-
Router not included
Photo: Carbide 3DCarbide 3D Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2
Not published work area · ballscrew
— Z — per sq ft
From $3,550.00
Maker's price, read 1 November 2026. Page contradicts itself ×1.
-
Router not included
Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 2x4
1245 × 635 mm work area · ballscrew
140 mm Z $457 per sq ft
From $3,890.00*
*Currency not stated, read 1 November 2026.
Photos are the makers' own, shown from their sites with credit. Where a maker's page has no usable photo, an original drawing built to the published work area stands in. "Per sq ft" is price divided by the X × Y work area, my own rough calculation.
Side by side
On a phone, swipe the table sideways. Sizes in millimetres; — means not published. Or tick "Compare" on up to four machines above.
| Machine | Price | X | Y | Z | $/sq ft | Drive | Spindle incl. | Warranty | Contradictions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2 | $219 | 290 | 180 | 40 | $390 | Leadscrew | Yes | — | 3 |
| SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2 | $399 | 300 | 205 | 78 | $603 | — | — | — | 2 |
| SainSmart 4040-PRO | $599 | 400 | 400 | 78 | $348 | Leadscrew | Yes | — | 2 |
| FoxAlien Masuter Pro | $600 | 400 | 400 | 60 | $348 | — | Yes | 1 year | |
| FoxAlien Masuter Pro Max 2x2 | $900 | 600 | 600 | — | $232 | — | Yes | 1 year | |
| SainSmart 4040-PRO MAX | $949 | 400 | 400 | 78 | $551 | — | Yes | — | 1 |
| Onefinity Apprentice | $995 | 419 | 419 | 133 | $527 | Ballscrew | No | — | |
| FoxAlien Masuter 3S | $1,000 | 400 | 400 | 95 | $581 | — | Yes | 1 year | |
| Sienci Labs LongMill MK3 30x30 | $1,400 | 813 | 813 | 117 | $197 | Leadscrew | No | 365 days | 1 |
| Onefinity Gen 2 Elite Woodworker | $2,195 | 838 | 838 | 178 | $290 | Ballscrew | No | — | |
| Carbide 3D Nomad 3 | $2,800 | 203 | 203 | 76 | $6,312 | — | Yes | 1 year | 1 |
| Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 4x4 | $3,160 | 1245 | 1245 | 140 | $189 | Ballscrew | No | 120 days | |
| Carbide 3D Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2 | $3,550 | — | — | — | — | Ballscrew | No | 1 year | 1 |
| Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 2x4 | $3,890 | 1245 | 635 | 140 | $457 | Ballscrew | No | 365 days |
Work areas to scale
New to CNC? Start here
1 November 2026 · 2 min read
How a desktop CNC router works, from drawing to cut
Six steps sit between an idea on screen and a groove in a board. Here's what each one does.
1 November 2026 · 2 min read
Work area, travel and footprint: the three sizes on a CNC spec sheet
A machine with a 400 mm work area can take up nearly three times that much bench. The numbers from the spec sheets in the record.
1 November 2026 · 2 min read
Leadscrew vs ballscrew: how a CNC router moves
Two ways of turning a motor's spin into straight-line motion, and which machines in the record use each.
Where a maker's page contradicts itself
Reading the pages line by line turned up 11 places where a page gives two answers to the same question. Confirm these with the maker before relying on them. More on what they are.
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The spec table lists the offline controller as "Optional" and the purchase options sell it separately, but the FAQ says the machine "comes with an offline controller".
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The intro says assembly takes "less than 35 minutes"; the spec table says 20-35 minutes.
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The discount badge says -18%; the savings line says "Save 19%".
- SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2: The spec table names the driver chip "TB67S109"; the text says "Toshiba TB6S109".
- SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2: The spec table lists six limit switches (X+, X-, Y+, Y-, Z+, Z-); the "What's in the box" list has "1x Limit Switch (X&Y-axis)".
- SainSmart 4040-PRO: The spec table gives Z as 78 mm (3.1 in); the feature text gives 3.31 in.
- SainSmart 4040-PRO: Assembly: the spec table says under 20 minutes; the feature text says about 15 minutes.
- SainSmart 4040-PRO MAX: The footprint is given as 660 mm and as 26.98 in. 660 mm is 25.98 in, so one of the two figures is wrong.
- Sienci Labs LongMill MK3 30x30: Weight: the description says about 72 lb assembled; the "Additional information" section says 50 lb.
- Carbide 3D Nomad 3: The warranty section on the Nomad 3 page refers to "Shapeoko".
- Carbide 3D Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2: The spec page (carbide3d.com/shapeoko/shapeoko5pro-specs/) shows the "Machine Travel" and "Machine Footprint" rows as placeholders, "(X) x (Y)", for every size.
Changes since the first reading
No changes yet. Every page was first read on 1 November 2026.
When a maker changes a price or a spec, the old figure stays here with the date the change was noticed.