SainSmart (Genmitsu) · checked 4 November 2026

3018-PRO DIY Kit

  • ? Spindle not stated

The 3018-PRO is SainSmart's small DIY kit, a 300 × 180 mm machine you build yourself in under two hours, with Carveco Maker design software included. SainSmart says it's "capable of cutting all types of plastics, soft aluminum, woods, acrylics, PVCs, and PCBs".

Quoted words are from SainSmart's product page, checked 4 November 2026.

SainSmart 3018-PRO DIY Kit, photo from SainSmartPhoto: SainSmart
Photo from SainSmart's product page. If it doesn't load, a drawing to scale shows instead. Photos on SainSmart's site ↗

What's in the box, and what you'll still need

What's included

  • The machine: frame, motion system and electronics
  • Software named on the page: Carveco Maker included; the page also names LaserGRBL, LightBurn, Easel and Fusion 360

You'll still need

  • Check with the maker whether a spindle is included; the page doesn't say.
  • Router bits, clamps to hold the work, and some way to deal with dust. None of the machines here include these in the base price.

Based on what the maker's page says comes in the box. More in what's in the box.

Cost to start cutting

Machine$159.00
Ready to cutCan't say

The page doesn't say whether a spindle is included. Bits, workholding, dust collection, software and a table aren't counted; add your own in the cost estimate. Accessory prices read 1 November 2026.

Work area to scale

Letter8.5 × 11 inX 300 mmY 180 mm
The 300 × 180 mm work area drawn to scale next to a sheet of US Letter paper. Grid lines every 100 mm.

See it on your bench

Features

motorscrew turns, nut moves the axis

Drive

Linear shafts and leadscrews

Learn more →

Spindle or router

Not stated. The page says a 20,000 rpm spindle can be dropped in, but doesn't say clearly what comes in the box.

Learn more →

Linear guides

Linear shafts

Learn more →

Controller

8-bit board, GRBL (Arduino-based)

Learn more →

Motors

Not published

Learn more →

Size

11.8" x 7.1" x 1.8" (300 x 180 x 45 mm)

Learn more →

Published specs

From SainSmart (Genmitsu)'s page for this machine, checked 4 November 2026. Inch figures are converted to millimetres.

Published specifications
SpecAs publishedSource
Price$159.00 (list $199.00)product page
Price noteSale price; list $199.00.
Work area, as published11.8" x 7.1" x 1.8" (300 x 180 x 45 mm)product page
X travel300 mm (11.8")product page
Y travel180 mm (7.1")product page
Z45 mm (1.8")product page
Spindle / routerNot stated. The page says a 20,000 rpm spindle can be dropped in, but doesn't say clearly what comes in the box.product page
DriveLinear shafts and leadscrewsproduct page
Linear motionLinear shaftsproduct page
FrameNot published
Controller and motors8-bit board, GRBL (Arduino-based)product page
SoftwareCarveco Maker included; the page also names LaserGRBL, LightBurn, Easel and Fusion 360product page
FootprintNot published
WeightNot published
WarrantyNot published
AssemblyDIY kit, under 2 hoursproduct page

Spec conflicts

None found.

Not published on the page: frame, footprint, weight, warranty.

Similar machines

Head-to-head

Page history

No price or spec changes recorded since then. When a figure changes, the old one is kept here with the date it was noticed.